chiyo-ni

May. 29th, 2017 08:52 am
missangelique999: my photo (fluff)
[personal profile] missangelique999
at the crescent moon
the silence
enters the heart

UpWords - Max Lucado: 29 May 2017

May. 29th, 2017 07:10 am
sparowe: (Compassion)
[personal profile] sparowe

A Cloak of Love

 
Today's MP3

Do you know anyone who is wounded and afraid? Do you know anyone who is guilty and embarrassed? Do you know anyone who needs a cloak of love? “Love covers a multitude of sins,” the scripture says in 1 Peter 4:8. Love doesn’t expose. It doesn’t gossip. If love says anything, love speaks words of defense. Words of kindness. Words of protection.

Do you know anyone who could use some protection? Of course you do. Then give some. Pay a gas bill for a struggling elderly couple. Promise your kids that, God being your helper, they’ll never know a hungry day or a homeless night. Tell your husband that you’d do it all over again and invite him on a honeymoon. Make sure your divorced friends are invited to your parties. Do you know anyone who needs a cloak of love? Then, give it.

From A Love Worth Giving

littlereview: (jewitch)
[personal profile] littlereview
My Country's Wardrobe )

We had a quiet morning watching the Maryland women win the national lacrosse championship while Adam researched computers and flights to Greece and Daniel played with his Nintendo Switch. Then we had homemade waffles and eggs and picked up my parents to go to Fort Ward near Alexandria, which has a Civil War museum plus some of the earthworks and cannons. It was drizzly, so we then went to Alexandria with the intention of walking around the Torpedo Factory, but we found the replica Spanish ship El Galeon and many geese, ducks, and fish, so we actually spent more time out on the waterfront.

We had dinner (and several desserts) for my father's birthday at Bilbo Baggins, in an upstairs room that we had to ourselves because there was a big party in the room with the Hobbit murals. Then we came home and watched Inferno, which Daniel had not seen (nor read the book, so it was all new to him) and I have to admit that despite its flaws I still like the movie much better than the book. Now we're watching a rerun of the National Memorial Day Concert, which I always find uplifting when it's about World War II veterans and incredibly bombastic whenever modern events are mentioned. Some pics:

17ward2
Around Alexandria )

zen quotation

May. 28th, 2017 08:58 am
missangelique999: my photo (yellow)
[personal profile] missangelique999
When you hear the splash
Of the water drops that fall
Into the stone bowl,
You will feel that all the dust
Of your mind is washed away.


- Zen Tea Master, Sen-No-Rikyu



enso

YMI: 28 May 2017

May. 28th, 2017 06:24 am
sparowe: (Yours)
[personal profile] sparowe
Not One Sparrow )

Placeholder for Sunday

May. 28th, 2017 12:35 am
littlereview: (little review)
[personal profile] littlereview
I had a really nice Saturday with family and friends -- first lunch at the Mountain Gate buffet restaurant in Thurmont, where we all drove with my parents and met Paul's parents and ate far too much pie (there were at least nine kinds), then dinner with Kay and Chris and their kids at California Pizza Kitchen plus a walk around the lake so Daniel and Adam could see the goslings. Now we're watching the late broadcast of Doctor Who after the Kidman-Urban-Cumming Graham Norton Show. This will be a weekend of family photos!

17mtgt1
More Family Stuff )

sharing

May. 27th, 2017 08:52 am
missangelique999: via pinterest (cupid & psyche)
[personal profile] missangelique999
ifyouleave


if you leave was my favorite tumblr photography blog.
each photo is a window into someone else's life.


ifyouleave2


http://if-you-leave.tumblr.com/
sparowe: (Casting Crowns)
[personal profile] sparowe

Real Love Changes People

 
Today's MP3

Paul writes, “Rejoice with those who rejoice and weep with those who weep” (Romans 12:15 NASB). Do you want to plumb the depths of your love for someone? How do you feel when that person succeeds? Do you rejoice or are you jealous? And when he or she stumbles or falls into misfortune? Are you really sorry? Or are you secretly pleased?

Love never celebrates misfortune. Never! Real love changes people. Didn’t God’s love change you? You know your love is real when you weep with those who weep and rejoice with those who rejoice. Do you want to know what love is? “This is what real love is– It is not our love for God; it is God’s love for us. He sent his Son to die in our place to take away our sins” (1 John 4:10).

God passes the test! And well he should —he drafted it! He rejoices with you; may you rejoice with others.

From A Love Worth Giving

Poem for Saturday and Visiting Family

May. 27th, 2017 12:31 am
littlereview: (trek)
[personal profile] littlereview
I'm nobody! Who are you? )

Daniel is home! And Adam had a great first week of his internship and got straight As! And Paul accepted a job -- this was his third offer but the one he felt best fit his interests and skills (he turned down one that was a good job but in a government agency that Trump has made noises about abolishing, and it just does not seem like a good time to become a federal employee). So other than my spine still being a literal pain in the ass, things are good!

Most of our early day was chores -- laundry, shopping for cat litter, a stop in Michael's for a piece to fix a bracelet -- plus a long phone conversation with Noelle. Adam's girlfriend Christine came over in the afternoon, hung out for a while, and came with us to pick Adam up from work, after which we went to my parents' for dinner, then left to go to the airport to retrieve Daniel!

17dmay1
Family Stuff )
sparowe: (Bible)
[personal profile] sparowe

Check Your Garbage

 
Today's MP3

Life has a way of unloading its rubbish on our doorstep! Your husband works too much. Your wife gripes too much. Your kids whine too much. The result? Trash! Load after load of bitterness, anxiety, deceit, and distrust. It all piles up. Now, mark it down. Today’s anger is tomorrow’s abuse. Today’s lust is tomorrow’s adultery. Today’s guilt is tomorrow’s fear. Today’s thoughts are tomorrow’s actions. So, deal with the trash!

Could that be why Paul says, “Love. . .keeps no record of wrongs?” (1 Corinthians 13:5 NIV). Let trash pile up and people are going to smell it. Are we victims of the emotional bacteria of the season? Or do we have a choice? Paul says we have an option. “We capture every thought and make it give up and obey Christ” (2 Corinthians 10:5). We have a choice. You might want to check your garbage.

From A Love Worth Giving

littlereview: (photos)
[personal profile] littlereview
After the First Child, the Second )

After dropping Adam off at NIH this morning, I went to physical therapy! Which was great! I mean, my back still aches and I have sharp pains shooting through my hip and down my leg when I sit for more than 20 minutes, but at least now I have exercises! We came home for lunch afterward, Paul talked to some job people, then we went to the post office to mail Maddy a package and to Kohl's so Paul could get shoes and I could get a nightgown I almost bought on sale last week which is now another few dollars cheaper. We also took a walk around the lake there to see the goslings.

We picked Adam up in the midst of a thunderstorm, had meatloaf for dinner, and watched The Handmaid's Tale and Genius with him (he has a low opinion of political dystopias, having been scarred by Ayn Rand's Anthem in school at a young age, and he doesn't have a great opinion of Einstein's useful smarts after this miniseries). Then we watched the Red Nose Day special, mostly to see the Love, Actually mini-sequel, which was cute but I don't love the original enough to be too deeply invested! Since Daniel is coming Friday and Effie is enraged about having her claws clipped, pics from his last visit:

<
Snuggle Cat )
sparowe: (Casting Crowns)
[personal profile] sparowe

The Lord Heals All Diseases

 
Today's MP3

The psalmist says, “The Lord heals all your diseases” (Psalm 103:2-3 NIV). Do you think among those diseases might be the affliction of anger? God can help you get rid of your anger. Do you want him to? This isn’t a trick question. You may be addicted to anger. You may be a rage junkie. Anger may be part of your identity. But if you want him to, God can change your identity.

Do you have a better option? Like moving to a rejection-free zone? If so, enjoy your life on the deserted island. When others reject you, let God accept you. Leave your anger at the tree of Calvary. He is not frowning. He is not mad. He sings over you. Take a long drink from his limitless love, and cool down!

From A Love Worth Giving

Rushed Thursday Entry

May. 25th, 2017 12:24 am
littlereview: (little review)
[personal profile] littlereview
A Haiku )

Wrote a whole entry and LJ ate it. My day in brief, though it was long: drove Adam to a deep learning conference in College Park, had breakfast at IHOP since we were over there, went to the mall to get gifts and pick up Maddy's paycheck to send her, went food shopping, went to the food store, took a walk, started watching the Dirty Dancing remake, turned it off because it was mediocre to watch The 100 season finale, then turned Dirty Dancing back on to see whether it had improved (nope), Adam got home late. Three photos from Arles earlier this year:

<
Camargue Capital )

Profile

littlereview: (Default)
littlereview

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags