specifics

Apr. 24th, 2017 10:21 am
missangelique999: my photo (ohgr)
[personal profile] missangelique999
so, I had this small business idea.

and I am trying to work out all the details in my head. . . --->

-transportation via car (would be spending quite a bit of time driving, and extra money on gas)

-will I need some type of business license? what kind?

-what kinds of supplies will I need?

-is it somewhat risky (dangerous) going into a stranger's home by myself?

-phone consultations first (screening)

-business cards

-maybe I could have my son help on weekends



*this is just a rough draft. still don't know if this is something I can handle right now.
sparowe: (Bible)
[personal profile] sparowe

The lips of the righteous nourish many, but fools die for lack of judgment.

Thoughts on Today's Verse...

I have several friends who are very wise in the way they speak. When they do speak up, everyone listens attentively because their words are always wise, well-timed, and worthwhile. Their righteous lives and careful use of words blesses and nourishes all who listen. There are others, however, that are constantly talking about everything and spending little or no time practicing what they preach. Their words are discounted as nothing more than their own desire to hear their own opinions about matters on which they know nothing.

 

My Prayer...

Holy and wise God, please give me wisdom and self-control to keep my mouth shut unless what I say can benefit those to whom I'm speaking. Help my words be helpful and true. In Jesus' name I pray. Amen.

 

The Thoughts and Prayer on Today's Verse are written by Phil Ware. You can email questions or comments to phil@verseoftheday.com.

Poem for Monday and Mount Vernon Farm

Apr. 24th, 2017 12:18 am
littlereview: (get critical)
[personal profile] littlereview
Grace Darling )

Sunday was gorgeous -- cool and rain-free -- so we had brunch early and went to Mount Vernon, mostly to see the lambs and piglets, though we walked through most of the farm and gardens (we ran out of time for the gristmill). There were a lot of tour groups waiting to get into the house, so we skipped that tour this time. We still got to see an osprey nest just off the wharf, the threshing barn, hundreds of tulips and irises, and most of the crops George Washington planted (though still not hemp, which he did grow).

17mtva1
Spring at Mount Vernon )


All our shows were on this Sunday so we had to make decisions about what to watch -- the Orioles had already lost to the Red Sox, the Nationals were playing the Mets (they won) and the Capitols had a crucial game against the Maple Leafs but we'll only watch hockey if they might win the Stanley Cup! We watched Once Upon a Time (meh but at least a lot of Zelena), Madam Secretary (not entirely believable but I love this cast), and Elementary (if nothing else, not predictable). Now John Oliver is eviscerating Jared Kushner!
littlereview: (jewitch)
[personal profile] littlereview
Vos que.m semblatz dels corals amadors )

Our power came back on some time between 2 and 4 a.m. so we woke up with it working, which was lovely! But we still had to throw out a lot of what we had in the refrigerator, so we knew we had to go food shopping. We were going to go to the park at Lake Frank and then to Roots Market, but it was raining so hard that we skipped the park, and we stopped at Giant as well to get cat treats. I didn't get to walk until dinnertime when the rain finally let up. Our evening entertainment consisted of Doctor Who (good) and Class (not really doing it for me).

Here are some photos of Cavaillon Synagogue, which now also houses the Judeo-Comtadin Museum. The building's interior was designed by Catholic architects for the Jews who were allowed to live and worship in the region outside of the earlier ghettos, where they had been kept as an example of the miserable fate befalling all non-Christians, as long as they also went to church on Sundays. The dark lower room with the matzah oven was the women's worship space, while the rococo sanctuary above was reserved for men. I meant to post these for Passover but I forgot:


The Old Synagogue )

tunes

Apr. 22nd, 2017 06:15 pm
missangelique999: a photo of me taken by another (angelic)
[personal profile] missangelique999
I want to thank [personal profile] used_songs for adding me as co admin of [community profile] beautifulmechanical, our music-sharing community. it's an honor and I feel that I am up to the task.

check it out! we share music daily, and you can share your music too :)

Our cat is ill :~(

Apr. 21st, 2017 09:50 pm
annathepiper: (Path of Wisdom)
[personal profile] annathepiper

For those of you who haven’t already seen me, Dara, or Paul posting about this on social media, last night we found out that our cat George has an aggressive cancer. It is very likely we’ll have to put him down some time in the next couple of weeks. 🙁

This has pretty much blindsided us. George had been in uncertain health this year anyway due to his liver, and has been on medication for that–but this was practically out of the blue and we had almost no warning, except for George acting a trifle weird and uncharacteristically needy on Wednesday night. Yesterday, he wasn’t eating or taking water, and he threw up–with some pink in it.

So Paul took him to the vet last night for an emergency examination. The verdict came back that he’s got an aggressive cancer. His lymph nodes had swollen, and his white blood count was very high.

Kitty’s on a lot of meds right now, his previous liver meds as well as painkillers and anti-nausea meds so that he can actually eat and take water. So he’s kind of logey and slow, but at least right now he is in fact eating.

There is never a good time for your pet to be ill, but this is particularly crappy timing given that I’m having the surgery this coming Monday. While Dara and I will be busy with that, Paul will need to take George in for further followups. So Monday’s going to be a barrel of fun all around. @.@

And I’ll just be hoping the little fuzzmonster makes it through the next week or so. I’d been kind of looking forward to letting him sleep in my lap while I’m recovering. Looks like we’ll both be doing a lot of resting.

Everybody hug your pets and tell them how good they are, okay?

Mirrored from angelahighland.com.

Greetings from Sugarloaf

Apr. 22nd, 2017 12:48 am
littlereview: (little review)
[personal profile] littlereview
We're at my parents' house watching the end of the Nationals-Mets game after The Americans because our entire neighborhood has no electricity. Earlier, after Maddy left for California in the morning, there was a thunderstorm that was relatively minor where we were, upcounty by Sugarloaf Mountain, but it caused a lot of damage near home, including trees down all through Cabin John Park and another across the main road to our development, taking the power lines with it.

We had a nice afternoon on the Countryside Artisans' spring tour at Heron's Meadow Farm (a tea farm that also sells pottery), Something Earthy pottery studio (where I was bitten by a chicken), Art of Fire (glassblowing and Renfaire artisan sales), and Dancing Leaf Farm (handmade wool), plus a stop at Petco for kitty litter. We were going to go food shopping but learned we had no power, so we had dinner with my parents and are now trying to do our computer chores from here!

17cnta4
Countryside Artisans )

hmmm

Apr. 21st, 2017 07:56 pm
sohotrightnow: ([buffy] like some soldier undaunted)
[personal profile] sohotrightnow
LOL so I'm to "The Witch" in my Buffy rewatch. Which I mention because it's the third episode and Xander has ALREADY gone full Nice Guy.

This is why I always kill Kaidan on Virmire, you sleep with someone in ME2 after he's told you to fuck off and in 3 he starts talking about how he ~forgives~ you for ~cheating~ on him. (Again, he told you to fuck off, so you moved on.)

KAIDAN'S GOTTA DIE BECAUSE THE ONLY SURE CURE IS A NUKE. IF ONLY YOU COULD NUKE XANDER.
sohotrightnow: ([mass effect] last best hope)
[personal profile] sohotrightnow
Soooo as mentioned a few times, I have gotten super into gaming in the last couple of years? Hilariously, it was my mother who got me into it. She bought a used X-Box when she and Dad were living in Australia, and got hooked on Mass Effect, and at one point, after she got back, she finally dragged me over to the couch, put a controller in my hand, and made me play, because she was so sure I'd like it. SHE WASN'T WRONG. Friggin' Bioware, man.

Anyway, here are my 'canon' characters for the Mass Effect and Dragon Age games. )

YEP. Tell me about your various Wardens/Hawkes/Inquisitors/Shepards/Ryders!
sohotrightnow: Buffy Summers, hands on her hips, smiling and looking satisfied. ([buffy] darkness is a harsh term)
[personal profile] sohotrightnow



FRIENDLY REMINDER THAT BUFFY SUMMERS AND THE IRON BULL ARE MARRIED AND HAVE TWO CHILDREN IRL

(Alternately, if you're in more of a space opera mood, friendly reminder that Buffy Summers and James Vega are married and have two children IRL!)

listy

Apr. 21st, 2017 10:20 am
missangelique999: my photo (joy)
[personal profile] missangelique999
weekend listy:

~get my special weekly treat via starbux

~sweep & clean patio because pool daze are upon us

~sweep front porch & pull weeds bc it looks necessary

~I don't know what else but, maybe, relax for once?

~not laundry

UpWords - Max Lucado: 21 April 2017

Apr. 21st, 2017 08:02 am
sparowe: (Bible)
[personal profile] sparowe

Our Best Days are Ahead

 
Today's MP3

Perhaps you can relate to the deflated little fellow I saw in an airport terminal. Everything about the dad’s expression said, “Hurry up! We have to run if we’re going to make the connection.” Can the little fellow keep up? Mom could. The big brothers could. But the little guy? He tried to match his parents’ pace, but he just couldn’t. Can you relate? Sometimes the challenge is just too much. It’s not that you don’t try. You just run out of fight.

The story of Joshua in the Bible dares us to believe our best days are ahead of us. A life in which the Bible says we are anxious for nothing, we are praying always; a life in which Paul says, we are giving thanks to God the Father through Him. (Philippians 4:6). We may stumble but we don’t collapse. God has a promised land for us to take!

From Glory Days

Poem for Friday and Brookside Tulips

Apr. 21st, 2017 12:01 am
littlereview: (photos)
[personal profile] littlereview
Living With Pain )

After morning rain, Thursday felt like summer -- temperature around 80, plenty of humidity -- though we still have so many dogwood and azaleas in bloom that it looked like spring. Paul had an interview, so I took Maddy to the doctor and realized driving home that if my leg kept seizing up, I wouldn't be able to hit the brake, so I called the doctor and demanded to be seen that afternoon (which meant the P.A. on that kind of notice).

Before that appointment, though, Denise came over and we discussed the world and happier thoughts while shopping at Forever 21 and playing with cats. I had not seen her in ages so that was lovely! When she left, I went to the doctor and convinced the P.A. that Advil was not doing it for me, though I am very claustrophobic and the earliest Open MRI appointment is mid-May, so I have to decide whether pain overrules fear of being crushed.

Maddy is going to California for a few days very early Friday morning, so we had Tofurkey ham with her for dinner and took her to the mall to pick up some movie posters for a friend of hers. Since everything we watch is in reruns, we put on a couple of Bones episodes (still not even through season ten and I see what people mean about how gross the murders get). Here are some photos from our April trips to Brookside Gardens, all of which involved tulips:

17brkpke
Tulip Season )

Profile

littlereview: (Default)
littlereview

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags